And so it begins…

This is my very first post.  Uh oh.  Now you are in for it 😊.   …and so it begins…

image

This little gem above, I found in the summer of 1992 (or was it the spring 1991? It doesn’t matter.  The point is it’s old) I purchased it for a dollar on a scavenger hunt in Ocean Shores, WA while on a church retreat.  (Yes, you read that correctly.  I said “church”. ) In case you can’t see the picure it is a sign/plaque that reads “smile”. It is very colorful, which caught my eye.  It’s made of plaster and has seen better days.  It has chipped pieces, glued back together pieces, touched up pieces, and even a spot where it is being held together with a piece of tape.  And I just keep packing it up and taking it with me everywhere I call home.  It’s been all over…Washington, Florida, Illinois, Virginia and back to Washington.  It has been with me thru highschool, bible thumpin days, marriage to a boy, divorce from said boy, coming out, another marriage  (this time to a girl), finding myself and so much more…

As I find myself in the depths of transition, I am drawn to this sign, once again.  Like it, my life has cracks and broken pieces and sometimes I am held together with a piece of tape and a little glue.  However, I too have a smile on my face.

My surroundings have been unstable lately.  And as far as I can tell, they will be for some time.  But I find strength in knowing that I, myself am stable and secure.  I am happy because I choose to be.  I don’t have time to wait for stability.  I need to be happy now.  And since I have the power and ability to find joy in my life….that’s my mission.

Happy Adventure Friday My Friends! May your day be filled with many smiles!!

-m.wilson

6 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. This is a quote my husband cut out of Reader’s Digest while he was in the first Gulf War. I have carried it in my wallet every day since he sent it to me back in 1990. I read it whenever times get a bit tough or we are in transition:

    “For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin, but there was always some obstacle in the way. Something had to be got through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. Then life would begin. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life.”

    Inner stability is all any of us ever need and it can be the hardest thing to actually create in our own lives. If you have that, then you have way more than most people and certainly everything you need to thrive!

    Congratulations on the new blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

